top of page
La Casa 48

BEMVINDOS   AT  CASA 48!
 

La Casa 48 is a 7 bedroom guest house located on the heights of the charming colonial and bohemian district of Santa Teresa , we are at the entrance of a small, quiet and family favela, the " Pereirão ". You will enjoy atypical and comfortable accommodation, ideal for exploring the different worlds of our beautiful city of  Rio de Janeiro . Be part of this breathtaking fram, alongside the Sugar Loaf, Guanabara Bay and the Flamengo and Botafogo districts!

--------- OUR TEAM  

Passionate about this fascinating country, we are French, Brazilian and Venezuelan who have been living in Rio de Janeiro for several years. All the staff of Casa 48 are waiting for you to share this warm guest house with you and make you experience the energy of Rio! 

Rio de Janeiro

DISCOVER A UNIQUE CITY IN THE WORLD 

Santa Teresa & Lapa

The marvelous natural site of the "River of January" (Rio de Janeiro) was discovered on the 1st of January 1502 by Portuguese navigators, but it was only on 1st of march that " São Sebastião do Rio de Janeiro " is oficialy founded by Estácio de Sá. Second capital of Brazil from 1763 to 1960, the Carioca agglomeration today has approximately 10 millions of inhabitants and remains the great showcase of this vast country. The beauty and magic of the geographical site cannot leave you indifferent : dozens of green hills overlap and plunge into the waters of Guanabara Bay or the Atlantic Ocean, from beaches to generous curves soar over several kilometres,
 
 

 
modern and colonial architecture interferes in this picture without dominating nature, as for the favelas, they appear here and there, when the slopes of the hills allow them to …!
Rio is much more than the unmissable beaches of Copacabana and Ipanema, or the sublime viewpoints from the hill of Corcovado and Sugar Loaf… Its different worlds make it a city full of striking contrasts. As for its festive life, it is not a myth!  The fantastic Carnival, the true apotheosis of the party and the joy of living, does not have to make shadow of the intoxicating evenings that Rio experiences throughout the year, whether to the rhythms of samba, forro, funk, maracatu, or MPB (Brazilian Popular Music).
Finally, Rio is also and above all a people with contagious positive energy, unlimited kindness and warmth : the Cariocas are proud of their city, of their quality of life, their 4 major football clubs and the Maracana stadium, their 40km of beaches, their cultural richness, and this exuberant nature! There are a myriad of sites to explore, on foot, by tram, by bike, by cable car... You can spend a week in Rio with a different program every day, in addition to your lazy moments at the beach and more. sunsets accompanied by a good caipirinha. Rio is a art of living, and you will begin to understand it  with us, at Casa 48! 

 SANTA TERESA

The hill of Santa Teresa was the bourgeois neighborhood in the last century. Living on the heights enabled cooler air and a breeze that chased away mosquitoes. In addition, this district with winding cobbled streets is close to the Centro, the business center, easily reached with the famous yellow tram, the Bonde, great pride of the inhabitants (see below). So you will appreciate pretty colorful houses with eclectic colonial architecture, unique to Rio. In the 50s and 60s, the neighborhoods of Copacabana and Ipanema became fashionable, the inhabitants of Santa moved…

bohemian district, 
artistic and
colonial

When the real estate market started to collapse, a new population arrived, artists and foreigners are beginning to invest in the colonial houses, giving a new bohemian flavor to this singular district, reminiscent of Lisbon's Bairro Alto...

the BONDE ,

the last traditional tram in circulation on the continent

 

The famous yellow tramway, a true emblem of the district,  appeared at the end of the 19th century, it very quickly took the Lapa aqueduct to reach the Center. Composed of 10 4-seater benches, the tram was completely open, encouraging exchanges and conviviality between passengers.  The tram was also a popular means of transport because it allowed the less fortunate to move at a lower cost, it indeed reached the favelas on the heights of the district and circulated from 6 am to 9.30 pm. Its great historical characteristic was its step on the sides on which one could travel for free by holding on to the handrail, and many seasoned travellers  ran after it to take it on the fly... a real time travel !

But this good old Bonde  required maintenance and handling that were never a priority for the authorities. La tragédie annoncée fini par avoir lieu en août 2011, le Bonde perd ses freins dans une descente, déraille et crashes  against a wall. The terrible toll is 50 injured and 6 victims, including Nelson , the most experienced driver, a neighborhood hero in spite of himself. This accident marks the end of the original Bonde made of wood and fully mechanical.

After several years of intense work, the Bonde are once again circulating in complete safety. If they look identical, they are now made of fiberglass, equipped with the latest driving technologies, and a bar is placed on the sides, and  the step retracts just before the start..! We are delighted to see him back on track, proudly walking the neighborhood climbs even if we have a great   Saudade  of our old tram, all rickety and happy. You will find that it is honored by the artists of the district including our great Getulio, you will also find everywhere the image of the tram with a tear, recalling the victims of the accident of 2011.

The fare is 20 reais for the round trip during the day, you can pay by card or cash at the final station in the city center, it runs approximately every 20 minutes and the stop is 80 meters from Casa 48 on the main street, rua Almirante Alexandrino.

 

By staying in Santa Teresa for Carnival, believe us, you are choosing the neighborhood that sees the best  Blocos   of the city as Besame Mucho, Ceu na Terra, Me Enterra na Quarta … A Bloco is a kind of fanfare in the form of a marching band, which plays popular and catchy songs. These street parties are free, there are about 50 blocos  per day during carnival …

In Santa Teresa, everyone plays the game and comes disguised with crazy and creative costumes: be ready! The people who go up the hill of Santa are the most motivated, especially when it comes to the bloco  Ceú Na Terra  which starts the Saturday at … 7am !

 

THE CARNIVAL  in  SANTA TERESA

Lapa, the Carioca nightlife district

 

Mecca of nightlife since the 1930s when casinos and cabarets were still legion in Brazil, Lapa is located at the foot of the hill of Santa Teresa, 10 minutes from Casa 48. The symbol of the district is its aqueduct of 42 arches pipes that carried spring water from the Tijuca forest to the city center. It was transformed into a viaduct for the tramway (Bonde) in 1896.

There are all kinds of clubs in Lapa, for all tastes and all budgets, attracting an eclectic crowd, especially on weekends when you can enjoy samba, forro, rock or even Brazilian funk concerts. This is undoubtedly the most lively place in Rio to party in Rio, and this all year round, especially from Thursday to Saturday evening.

The PEREIRÃO favela

 Casa 48 is located at the entrance of a small favela, called the “ Pereirão ”, it has about 2500 inhabitants. The upper part of the favela is part of the Santa Teresa district, while the lower part takes you directly to the Laranjeiras and Flamengo districts where you can take the metro (Largo do Machado station). Our access is privileged because the door of the house is located 100 meters from the main street of Santa Teresa, rua Almirante Alexandrino, where the various urban transport drops you off (bus, taxis, Uber, tramway…) So don't worry, you  have just about twenty steps before reaching the door of Casa 48! Here is the access ramp: 

Pereirao
Arrival2.jpg

Did you say "favela"?!

There are 950 more or less large favelas in Rio, they include 1/4 of the inhabitants, or about 1.5 million people. The favela is an invasion of public land, its constructions are therefore irregular and do not benefit from any official document. However, the houses have access to water and electricity and they are all built by the inhabitants themselves with solid materials: bricks, cement, etc. The favelas were mainly born in the 40s and 50s, when many Brazilians fled the drought and misery of the North, Nordeste and the countryside. When they arrived in Rio, there was no social housing provided to accommodate them. They then appropriated the available land, namely these inaccessible areas on the sides of the hills, as these are omnipresent in Rio, we find everywhere this famous contrast between wealthy and poor people who live side by side. As they are on the hills, the favelas often enjoy the most beautiful views of the city, the forest, the ocean! Like Casa 48! 

 

The vast majority of the inhabitants work, because of a lack of access to quality education, the jobs are often unskilled (building guardians, cleaning women, construction workers, bus drivers, vendors on the beach etc). It's kind of Rio's little hands, the ones that keep the city going! 

 

It should be noted that samba was born in the favelas and that all the major samba schools that parade at the Sambadrome during Carnival come from the favelas of Rio and its suburbs. Without favelas, no greatest spectacle in the world! 

Despite the bad images conveyed by the media, favelas are not necessarily lawless areas, prejudices and shortcuts die hard! Rather, it is a unique, dynamic universe, full of life and human warmth. In the case of Pereirão, you are immersed in the friendly atmosphere of a village right in the center of the big city.

 

We often find beautiful social and cultural projects in the favelas, here at Pereirão we support that of   Favela Brass  by Tom Ashe, this Englishman teaches music for free to children of the favela who form a superb fanfare, or the astonishing artistic project du  Projeto Morrinho , it is a giant model in colored bricks representing the universe of the favelas of Rio, this unique installation dates from 1997 and the ex-teenagers continue to take care of it. We are happy to organize your visit. 

OUR SELECTION OF MOVIES  in RIO and BRAZIL 


MOVIES

- the cartoons RIO and RIO 2, 20th Century Fox (2011)
Blu, a domestic arara who lives in the United States will discover the joys of the sweetness of life in Rio! We find the beautiful Carioca clichés: life on the beach, the carnival, the atmosphere of the favelas, the fever around football, the beautiful fauna and flora of the Tijuca forest... It's light and fun, and that makes you want to take your plane ticket as soon as the film ends! The second installment sees the band travel and settle in the Amazon.  

- Trope de Elite 1 et 2, by José Padilha with Wagner Moura,  (2008 and 2012)a 
With Captain Nascimento of BOPE, this elite intervention unit called upon as a last resort to manage the most inextricable situations in the violent favelas of Rio at the hands of drug traffickers, you discover the dark side of the marvelous city, another reality that unfortunately thousands of Cariocas suffer. This shocking film explains the relationships between the actors of the drug trade: the corrupt police, the narcos, the consumers and therefore the members of the BOPE. The second part focuses more on the problem of the milicias, these Brazilian-style mafias which are even more dangerous and which involve politicians, business leaders, reformed soldiers... We advise you to watch these two excellent films after your stay in Rio! 
 

- Central do Brasil by Walter Salles, with Fernanda Montenegro (1998)
You go from Rio to the Sertão of Nordeste with the adventure of the ex-teacher Dora and the young Josué, you travel through the dark realities of Brazilian society: illiteracy, abandoned children, banditry, organ trafficking, violence... A poignant film that nevertheless ends on a glimmer of hope. 
 

- The City of God by Fernando Mereilles (2002)
Through the young Buscapé, we accompany the evolution of the City of God, this district created by the authorities in the 1960s to displace the inhabitants of a favela in the South Zone. This majestic film with an exceptional soundtrack plunges us into the complex life of young people in the difficult neighborhoods of Rio.

- Orfeu Negro by Marcel Camus (1959, Palme d'Or)
This film is an adaptation of a play by  Vinícius de Moraes , Orfeu da Conceição, inspired by the Greek myth of Orpheus and Eurydice.   The scene is in the middle of the Rio carnival, we are transported by the notes of samba and bossa nova as well as by the jubilation of the crowd throughout the film, vibrant!   Note that the Serafina favela is that of Babilônia located in Leme, and that the distribution exclusively with black actors is a great first which has moved the lines, especially in the United States, the film is awarded at the Oscars, while we are still in the midst of the years of racial segregation.
 

- Aquarius by Kleber Mendonça Filho with Sonia Braga (2016)
A fine critique of society via the portrait of Clara, in her sixties, who refuses to leave her apartment. The beautiful building from the 1940s located on the seafront in Recife (avenida Boa Viagem) is promised to major builders. A beautiful story of resistance with there too, a superb soundtrack and soft permanbucanos accents that warm the heart!
 

- Bacurau, by Kleber Mendonça Filho with Sonia Braga (2019, Jury Prize at Cannes)
A science fiction thriller set in the arid Sert ão , this film is a sharp criticism of contemporary Brazil, even a work of resistance to the ideologies advocated by Bolsonaro. This fantastic western describes a near future that might not be so far away given current events...  










 

 

 -------------------- SEEN ON TV! 
On the sidelines of major sporting events (World Cup 2014, Olympics 2016), several journalists have produced reports on Casa 48:  
 

Até logo ! 

Até logo !
Films et Livres
TV
bottom of page

BEMVINDOS  À LA  CASA 48 !
 

La Casa 48 est une maison d’hôtes de 7 chambres située sur les hauteurs du charmant quartier colonial et bohème de Santa Teresa, nous sommes à l’entrée d’une petite favela calme et familiale, le "Pereirão". Vous profiterez d'un logement atypique et confortable, idéal pour se lancer à la découverte des différents univers de notre si belle ville de Rio de Janeiro. Faites partis de ce cadre époustouflant, aux côtés du Pain de Sucre, de la Baie de Guanabara et des quartiers de Flamengo et Botafogo !

sala 1er andar
sala 1er andar

press to zoom
facade de face
facade de face

press to zoom
nascer do sol
nascer do sol

press to zoom
sala 1er andar
sala 1er andar

press to zoom
1/18

------------------   NOTRE ÉQUIPE  

Passionnés de ce pays fascinant, nous sommes français, brésiliens et vénézuéliens installés depuis plusieurs années à Rio de Janeiro. Tout le staff de la Casa 48 vous attend pour vous faire partager cette maison d’hôtes chaleureuse et vous faire vivre l’énergie de Rio ! 

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
 

DÉCOUVREZ UNE VILLE UNIQUE AU MONDE 

 

Le merveilleux site naturel du "Fleuve de Janvier" (Rio de Janeiro) fut découvert le 1er janvier 1502 par les navigateurs portugais, mais ce n’est que le 1er mars 1565 que la ville de "São Sebastião do Rio de Janeiro" est officiellement créée par Estácio de Sá. Deuxième capitale du Brésil de 1763 à 1960, l’agglomération Carioca compte aujourd’hui environ 10 millions d’habitants et reste la grande vitrine de ce vaste pays. La beauté et la magie du site géographique ne peuvent vous laisser indifférent : des dizaines de collines verdoyantes se chevauchent et plongent dans les eaux de la baie de Guanabara ou de l’océan atlantique, des plages aux

 

 

 

courbes généreuses s’élancent sur plusieurs kilomètres, une architecture moderne et coloniale vient s’immiscer dans ce tableau sans pour autant dominer la nature, quant aux favelas, elles apparaissent ici ou là, quand les pentes des collines leur permettent de s'agripper … !

Rio, c’est bien plus que les incontournables plages de Copacabana et d’Ipanema, ou que les sublimes points de vue depuis le morne du Corcovado et du Pain de Sucre… Ses différents univers en font une ville de contrastes saisissants. Quant à sa vie festive, il ne s’agit pas d’un mythe! Le fantastique Carnaval, véritable apothéose de la fête et de la joie de vivre, ne doit pas pour autant faire de l’ombre aux soirées enivrantes que connaît Rio tout au long de l’année, que ce soit aux rythmes du samba, du forro, du funk, du maracatu, ou de la MPB (Musique Populaire Brésilienne).

Enfin, Rio, c’est aussi et surtout un peuple à l’énergie positive contagieuse, d’une gentillesse et d’une chaleur sans limites : les Cariocas sont fiers de leur ville, de leur qualité de vie, de leurs 4 grands clubs de football et du Maracana, de leurs 40km de plages, de leur richesse culturelle, et de cette nature exubérante, qui est tout à leur image ! Il y a une myriade de sites à explorer, à pied, en tram, à vélo, en téléphérique ... Vous pouvez passer une semaine à Rio avec un programme différents tous les jours, en plus de vos moments farniente à la plage et autre couchers de soleil accompagnés d'une bonne caïpirinha. Rio c'est tout un art de vivre, et vous commencerez à le comprendre avec nous, à la Casa 48 ! Attention au coup de foudre !

Le Christ et le soleil
Le Christ et le soleil

press to zoom
Plage de Botafogo, vue du Pain de Sucre
Plage de Botafogo, vue du Pain de Sucre

press to zoom
IMG_20200608_151337836_HDR_edited
IMG_20200608_151337836_HDR_edited

press to zoom
Le Christ et le soleil
Le Christ et le soleil

press to zoom
1/55

SANTA TERESA

La colline de Santa Teresa était le quartier bourgeois au siècle dernier. Vivre sur les hauteurs permettait de profiter d’un air plus frais et d’une brise qui chassait les moustiques. De plus, ce quartier aux rues pavées sinueuses est à proximité du Centro, le centre des affaires, facilement rejoint avec le célèbre tramway jaune, le Bonde, grande fierté des habitants (voir plus bas). Ainsi vous apprécierez de jolies maisons colorées à l’architecture coloniale éclectique, unique à Rio. Dans les années 50 et 60, les quartiers de Copacabana et Ipanema deviennent à la mode, les habitants de Santa déménagent…

quartier bohème, 
artistique et
colonial

Le marché de l’immobilier chute et attire une nouvelle population, les artistes et les étrangers commencent à investir les lieux, donnant un nouveau parfum bohème à ce quartier singulier,qui rappelle le Bairro Alto de Lisbonne...

bar colonial
bar colonial

press to zoom
Atelier de Getulio
Atelier de Getulio

press to zoom
roda de samba
roda de samba

press to zoom
bar colonial
bar colonial

press to zoom
1/13

Le BONDE,

le dernier tramway traditionnel en circulation sur le continent

 

Le fameux tramway jaune, véritable emblème du quartier, a fait son apparition dès la fin du 19ème siècle, il emprunta très vite l'aqueduc de Lapa pour rejoindre plus rapidement le Centro. Composé de 10 banquettes de 4 places, le tram était complètement ouvert, encourageant les échanges et la convivialité entre les passagers. Le tram était aussi un moyen de transport populaire car il permettait aux moins fortunés de se déplacer à moindre coût, il atteignait en effet les favelas sur les hauteurs du quartier et circulait de 6h à 21h30. Sa grande caractéristique historique était son marche pied sur les côtés sur lesquels on pouvait voyager gratuitement en s’agrippant à la main courante, et nombre de voyageurs aguerris lui courraient après pour le prendre à la volée… un véritable voyage dans le temps !

Mais ce bon vieux Bonde nécessitait un entretien et une manutention qui n’ont jamais été une priorité des autorités. La tragédie annoncée fini par avoir lieu en août 2011, le Bonde perd ses freins dans une descente, déraille et s'écrase contre un mur. Le terrible bilan est de 50 blessés et de 6 victimes, dont Nelson, le chauffeur le plus expérimenté, héros du quartier malgré lui. Cet accident marque la fin du Bonde original en bois et entièrement mécanique.

Après plusieurs années d'intenses travaux, les Bonde circulent à nouveau en toute sécurité. Si ils paraissent identiques, ils sont désormais en fibre de verre, dotés des dernières technologies de conduite, et une barre est placée sur les cotés, et le marche pied se rétracte juste avant le départ..! Nous sommes ravis de le revoir sur les rails, arpenter fièrement les montées du quartier même si nous avons une grande Saudade de notre Bonde traditionnel, tout brinquebalant et joyeux. Vous constaterez qu'il est mis à l'honneur par les artistes du quartier dont notre grand Getulio, vous trouverez également un peu partout l'image du tram avec une larme, rappelant les victimes de l'accident de 2011.

Le tarif est de 20reais pour l'aller/retour dans la journée, vous pouvez payer en carte ou liquide à la station finale du Centre ville, il passe environ toutes les 20 minutes et l'arrêt est à 80 mètres de la Casa 48 sur la rua principale, la rua Almirante Alexandrino.

largo do curvelo
largo do curvelo

press to zoom
largo dos Guimaraes
largo dos Guimaraes

press to zoom
Le Bonde à la Casa 48 !
Le Bonde à la Casa 48 !

press to zoom
largo do curvelo
largo do curvelo

press to zoom
1/10

 

En séjournant à Santa Teresa pour le carnaval, croyez-nous, vous choisissez le quartier qui voit défiler les meilleurs Blocos de la ville comme Besame Mucho, Ceu na Terra, Me Enterra na Quarta … Le Bloco est ce groupe brésilien, souvent un orchestre sous forme de fanfare, qui joue des chansons populaires et entraînantes. Ces fêtes de rue sont gratuites, il y a environ 50 blocos par jour pendant le carnaval …

A Santa Teresa, tout le monde joue le jeu et vient déguisé avec des costumes déjantés et créatifs : soyez prêts! Les gens qui montent la colline de Santa sont les plus motivés, surtout quand il s’agit du bloco Ceú Na Terra qui démarre le samedi à … 7h !

 

WhatsApp Image 2020-06-12 at 13.51.41
WhatsApp Image 2020-06-12 at 13.51.41

press to zoom
WhatsApp Image 2022-06-23 at 21.15_edited
WhatsApp Image 2022-06-23 at 21.15_edited

press to zoom

press to zoom
WhatsApp Image 2020-06-12 at 13.51.41
WhatsApp Image 2020-06-12 at 13.51.41

press to zoom
1/16

LE   C A R N A V A L   À  SANTA TERESA  . . .

Lapa, le quartier de la nuit Carioca

 

Haut lieu de la vie nocturne depuis les années 30 quand les casinos et cabarets étaient encore légion au Brésil, Lapa est situé aux pieds de la colline de Santa Teresa, à 10min de la Casa 48. Le symbole du quartier est son aqueduc de 42 arches blanches qui acheminait l’eau de source de la forêt de Tijuca au Centre ville. Il a été transformé en viaduc pour le tramway (Bonde) en 1896.

On trouve toute sorte de clubs à Lapa, pour tous les goûts et toutes les bourses, attirant une foule éclectique, notamment les weekends où vous profiterez de concerts de samba, forro, rock ou encore funk brésilien. C’est sans aucun doute l’endroit le plus animé à Rio pour faire la fête à Rio, et ce toute l'année, surtout du jeudi au samedi soir.

IMG_20200112_203745322
IMG_20200112_203745322

press to zoom
IMG_20200112_203745322
IMG_20200112_203745322

press to zoom
1/1

La favela du PEREIRÃO

 La Casa 48 est située à l’entrée d’une petite favela, appelée le « Pereirão », elle compte environ 2500 habitants. La partie haute de la favela fait partie du quartier de Santa Teresa, tandis que la partie basse vous mène directement aux quartiers de Laranjeiras et Flamengo où vous pouvez prendre le métro (station du Largo do Machado). Notre accès est privilégié car le portail de la maison se situe 100 mètres de la rue principale de Santa Teresa, la rua Almirante Alexandrino, où les différents transports urbains vous déposent (bus, taxis, Uber, tramway…) Ainsi pas d'inquiétudes, vous  avez juste une vingtaine de marches avant d'atteindre la porte de la Casa 48 ! Voici la rampe d'accès : 

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/2
 
Arrival2.jpg

Vous avez dit "favela" ?!

On compte 950 favelas à Rio de plus ou moins grande taille, elles regroupent 1/4 des habitants, soit environ 1.5 millions de personnes. La favela est une invasion du terrain public, ses constructions sont donc irrégulières et ne bénéficient d’aucun cadastre officiel. Pour autant les maisons ont accès à l’eau et à l’électricité et elles sont toutes bâties par les habitants eux mêmes avec des matériaux en dur : briques, ciments etc. Les favelas sont surtout nées dans les années 40 et 50, quand beaucoup de brésiliens fuyaient la sécheresse et la misère du Nord, Nordeste et des campagnes. À leur arrivée à Rio il n’y avait pas de logements sociaux prévus pour les accueillir. Ils se sont alors approprier les terrains disponibles, à savoir ces zones inaccessibles sur les flancs des collines, comme celles-ci sont omniprésentes à Rio on retrouve partout ce fameux contraste entre personnes aisées et pauvres qui vivent côte à côte. Comme elle sont sur les collines les favelas jouissent souvent des plus belles vues sur la ville, la forêt, l'océan! Comme la Casa 48 ! 

 

La grande majorité des habitants travaillent, faute d'avoir eu accès à un enseignement de qualité, les emplois sont souvent peu qualifiés (gardiens d'immeubles, femmes de ménage, ouvriers dans le BTP, chauffeurs de bus,  vendeurs ambulants sur la plage etc). C'est en quelque sorte les petites mains de Rio, celles qui font tourner la ville! 

 

A noter que le samba est né dans les favelas et que toutes les grandes écoles de samba qui défilent au Sambodrome pendant le Carnaval viennent des favelas de Rio et de sa banlieue. Sans favelas, pas de plus grand spectacle du monde! 

Malgré les mauvaises images véhiculées par les médias, les favelas ne sont pas forcément des zones de non droit, les préjugés et les raccourcis ont la vie dure! C’est plutôt un univers unique, dynamique, plein de vie et de chaleur humaine. Dans le cas du Pereirão, vous êtes plongé dans l’ambiance conviviale d’un village en plein centre de la grande ville.

 

On trouve souvent de beaux projets sociaux et culturels dans les favelas, ici au Pereirão nous soutenons celui du Favela Brass de Tom Ashe, cet anglais enseigne gratuitement la musique aux enfants de la favela qui forment une superbe fanfare, ou encore l’étonnant projet artistique du Projeto Morrinho, il s'agit d'une maquette géante en briques colorées représentant l’univers des favelas de Rio, cette installation unique date de 1997 et les ex-adolescents continuent de s'en occuper. Nous vous organisons votre visite avec plaisir. 

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/4
projeto morrinho
projeto morrinho

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
projeto morrinho
projeto morrinho

press to zoom
1/5

NOTRE SÉLECTION FILMS & LIVRES sur RIO et le BRÉSIL 

                                             
F I L M S

- les dessins animés RIO et RIO 2, 20th Century Fox (2011)
Blu, un arara domestique qui vit aux Etats-Unis va découvrir les joies de la douceur de vivre de Rio ! On retrouve les beaux clichés cariocas : la vie à la plage, le carnaval, l'ambiance des favelas, la fièvre autour du football, la belle faune et flore de la forêt de Tijuca... C'est léger et amusant, et ça vous donne envie de prendre votre billet d'avion dès la fin du film! Le deuxième volet voit la bande voyager et s'installer en Amazonie.  

- Trope de Elite 1 et 2 , de José Padilha avec Wagner Moura,  (2008 et 2012)a 
Avec le Capitaine Nascimento de la BOPE, cette unité d'intervention d'élite appelée en dernier recours pour gérer les situations les plus inextricables dans les favelas violentes de Rio aux mains des narco-trafiquants, vous découvrez la face obscure de la ville merveilleuse, une autre réalité que subissent malheureusement des milliers de Cariocas. Ce film choc vous explique les relations entre les acteurs du trafic de drogue : les policiers corrompus, les narco, les consommateurs et donc les membres de la BOPE. Le second volet se penche plus sur le problème des milicias, ces mafias à la brésilienne qui sont encore plus dangereuses et qui impliquent politiciens, chefs d'entreprises, militaires réformés... On vous conseille de regarder ces deux excellents films aprés votre séjour à Rio! 
 

- Central do Brasil de Walter Salles, avec Fernanda Montenegro (1998)
Vous passez de Rio au Sertão du Nordeste avec l'aventure de l'ex-enseignante Dora et du jeune Josué, vous parcourez les sombres réalités de la société brésilienne : analphabétisme, enfants abandonnés, banditisme, trafic d'organes, violence... Film poignant qui fini tout de même sur une lueur d'espoir. 
 

- La Cité de Dieu de Fernando Mereilles (2002)
A travers le jeune Buscapé, on accompagne l'évolution de la Cité de Dieu, ce quartier créé par les autorités dans les années 60 pour déplacer les habitants d'une favela de la Zone Sud. Ce film majestueux à la bande son d'exception nous plonge dans la complexe vie de la jeunesse des quartiers difficiles de Rio.

- Orféu Negro de Marcel Camus (1959, Palme d'Or)
Ce film est une adaptation d'une pièce de théâtre de Vinícius de Moraes, Orfeu da Conceição, inspiré du mythe grec d'Orphée et d'Eurydice.  La scène est en plein carnaval de Rio, on est transportés par les notes de samba et de bossa nova ainsi que par la liesse de la foule pendant tout le film, vibrant!  A noter que la favela de Serafina est celle de Babilônia située à Leme, et que la distribution exclusivement avec des acteurs noirs est une grande première qui a fait bouger les lignes, notamment aux Etats-Unis, le film est primé aux Oscars, alors que nous sommes encore en plein dans les années de ségrégation raciale.
 

- Aquarius de Kleber Mendonça Filho avec Sonia Braga (2016)
Une belle critique de la société via le portrait de Clara, la soixantaine, qui refuse de quitter son appartement. Le bel immeuble des années 40 situé en front de mer à Recife (avenida Boa Viagem) est promis aux grands constructeurs. Une belle histoire de résistance avec là aussi, une superbe bande son et des doux accents permanbucanos qui font chaud au cœur!
 

- Bacurau, de Kleber Mendonça Filho avec Sonia Braga (2019, Prix du Jury à Cannes)
Thriller de science fiction se déroulant dans le Sertão aride, ce film est une vive critique du Brésil contemporain voire une oeuvre de résistance face aux idéologies prônées par Bolsonaro. Ce western fantastique décrit un futur proche qui pourrait n'être pas si éloigné que ça vu l'actualité...  










 

 

 -------------------- VU à la TV ! 
En marge des grands évènements sportifs (Coupe du Monde 2014, JO 2016), plusieurs journlistes on réalisé des reportages sur la Casa 48 : 
 

Até logo ! 

Até logo !